F1 Returns to the U.S.: Austin Grand Prix

From October 20th to October 22nd, 2023, the world of Formula 1 will once again be mesmerized by the speed and thrill at the Austin Grand Prix in the United States. This race, following the excitement of the Qatar Grand Prix, is a prelude to the upcoming Mexican Grand Prix. With a rich history of hosting enthralling car races, the U.S. is now gearing up for another high-octane event in Las Vegas, signaling a push for greater revenue in this land of extraordinary feats.

A Glimpse into the Prestige of the U.S. Grand Prix

The U.S. Grand Prix is a jewel in the crown of global motorsport events, celebrated for its rich history and prestige. Let’s dive into some key aspects of this iconic race:

  • Historical Venues: The U.S. Grand Prix has been hosted at various locations, including Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas, and Watkins Glen International in New York.
  • Inaugural Race: The first race took place on September 12, 1959, at Florida’s Sebring International Raceway, where Bruce McLaren claimed victory in his Cooper-Climax.
  • A Decade of Confluence: From 1950 to 1960, the race coincided with the famous Indianapolis 500.
  • Hiatus and Resurgence: After a brief pause post-1960, the Grand Prix returned in 1961, rotating across various tracks.
  • The Austin Era: Since 2012, the race has found a home at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas, a modern track that draws thousands each year.
  • Record Holder: Michael Schumacher reigns as the race’s most successful driver, with five victories.
  • Title Decider: Often crucial in the championship battle, the U.S. Grand Prix has been a turning point for many drivers fighting for the world title.
  • Legends of the Track: Many legends, including Ayrton Senna, Alain Prost, and Lewis Hamilton, have triumphed here.

The Circuit of The Americas: Heart of the Austin Grand Prix

Since 2012, the Circuit of The Americas (COTA) in Austin has been the proud venue of the U.S. Grand Prix.

  • Genesis of the Track: Designed for Formula 1 and other international races, construction began in 2010, with the track inaugurating on October 21, 2012.
  • Track Specifications: Spanning 5.513 kilometers with 20 turns, the track, a brainchild of Hermann Tilke, blends fast straights with technically challenging corners and elevation shifts.
  • A Multifaceted Venue: COTA also hosts MotoGP, the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, and the Pirelli World Challenge.
  • A Driver’s Challenge: The track is known for its demanding fast corners, tight chicanes, and challenging braking points.

Champions of the U.S. Grand Prix: A Legacy of Winners

The U.S. Grand Prix has seen a remarkable array of champions over the years. Here’s a look at some of the winners:

2021Max Verstappen (Red Bull-Honda)Austin
2020No US Grand Prix due to Covid 19Austin
2019Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)Austin
2018Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrrari)Austin
2017Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)Austin
2016Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)Austin
2015Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)Austin
2014Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)Austin
2013Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull-Renault)Austin
2012Lewis Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes)Austin
2011 – 2008cancelled
2007Lewis Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes)Indianapolis
2006Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)Indianapolis
2005Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)Indianapolis
2004Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)Indianapolis
2003Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)Indianapolis
2002Rubens Barrichello (Ferrari)Indianapolis
2001Mika Häkkinen (McLaren-Mercedes)Indianapolis
2000Michael Schumacher (Ferrari)Indianapolis
1999 – 1992cancelled
1991Ayrton Senna (McLaren-Honda)Phoenix
1990Ayrton Senna (McLaren-Honda)Phoenix
1989Alain Prost (McLaren-Honda)Phoenix
1988Ayrton Senna (McLaren-Honda)Detroit
1987Ayrton Senna (Lotus-Honda)Detroit
1986Ayrton Senna (Lotus-Renault)Detroit
1985Keke Rosberg (Williams-Honda)Detroit
1984Keke Rosberg (Williams-Honda)Dallas
1983John Watson (McLaren-Ford)Long Beach
1982Niki Lauda (McLaren-Ford)Long Beach
1981Alan Jones (Williams-Ford)Long Beach
1980Nelson Piquet (Brabham-Ford)Long Beach
1979Gilles Villeneuve (Ferrari)Long Beach
1978Carlos Reutemann (Ferrari)Long Beach
1977Mario Andretti (Lotus-Ford)Long Beach
1976Clay Regazzoni (Ferrari)Long Beach
1975Niki Lauda (Ferrari)Watkins Glen
1974Carlos Reutemann (Brabham-Ford)Watkins Glen
1973Ronnie Peterson (Lotus-Ford)Watkins Glen
1972Jackie Stewart (Tyrrell-Ford)Watkins Glen
1971François Cevert (Tyrrell-Ford)Watkins Glen
1970Emerson Fittipaldi (Lotus-Ford)Watkins Glen
1969Jochen Rindt (Lotus-Ford)Watkins Glen
1968Jackie Stewart (Matra-Ford)Watkins Glen
1967Jim Clark (Lotus-Ford)Watkins Glen
1966Jim Clark (Lotus-B.R.M.)Watkins Glen
1965Graham Hill (B.R.M.)Watkins Glen
1964Graham Hill (B.R.M.)Watkins Glen
1963Graham Hill (B.R.M.)Watkins Glen
1962Jim Clark (Lotus-Climax)Watkins Glen
1961Innes Ireland (Lotus-Climax)Watkins Glen
1960Stirling Moss (Lotus-Climax)Riverside
1959Bruce McLaren (Cooper-Climax)Sebring
1958Chuck Daigh (Scarab-Chevrolet)Riverside

Experience Formula 1 Live and For Free

Discover how to watch all Formula 1 races live and for free without the burden of TV fees. Our guide provides a comprehensive look into the world of Formula 1 live streaming.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *