F1 Italian Grand Prix – The Monza GP

The Monza Formula 1 Grand Prix, also known as the Italian Grand Prix, takes place at the Autodromo Nazionale di Monza. This renowned race track is situated in Monza, a city near Milan in Italy. Famous for its high-speed thrills and elongated straights, the circuit stands as one of the world’s oldest permanent race tracks.

The 2023 Monza Grand Prix is scheduled from September 1st to 3rd. Preceding this event, Formula 1 teams will race at the Zandvoort Grand Prix, and following Monza, the action moves to the Singapore Grand Prix.

History of the Italian Grand Prix

For over seventy years, the Italian Grand Prix has been a staple event at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza. Since its incorporation into the Formula 1 calendar in 1950, the circuit has hosted the race annually, with 1980 being the sole exception when it was held at the Autodromo Dino e Enzo Ferrari.

In 2022, the Monza circuit celebrated a century of racing, having hosted its first event on September 3, 1922. Known as the “Temple of Speed,” Monza’s layout features a blend of fast straights, challenging corners, and intricate turn combinations. However, safety enhancements have been implemented over the years due to the tragic accidents and loss of drivers at the track’s high-speed layout. These changes, alongside new engine regulations, have contributed to reduced speeds and enhanced safety.

The track – Autodromo Nationale Monza

The Monza track spans 5.793 kilometers, combining high-speed straights with technical corners. Each race comprises 53 laps, totaling 306.720 kilometers. The start-finish straight, one of Formula One’s longest, leads into the famous Parabolica corner—a high-speed, right-hand turn crucial for setting up the next track section. The Ascari variant and Roggia chicane, named after a nearby river, are also notable features of the track. Due to the long straights and few slow corners, Formula One cars often achieve top speeds and impressive average speeds here.

Stellar Performances at the Monza Grand Prix

At the Monza Grand Prix, a venue renowned for high-speed racing, several drivers have etched their names in the history books with exceptional performances.

Lewis Hamilton set a blistering pace at Monza by recording the fastest lap ever during the 2020 Italian Grand Prix. His record-breaking lap time stood at an impressive 1 minute and 18.887 seconds.

Juan Pablo Montoya, in 2004, set a remarkable record at Monza by achieving the highest average speed ever recorded in a Formula One race at this circuit. His average speed was a staggering 263.587 km/h.

When it comes to securing the most pole positions at the Monza Grand Prix, also known as the Italian Grand Prix, there’s a three-way tie. Ayrton Senna, Juan Pablo Montoya, and Lewis Hamilton each have claimed the top starting spot five times, demonstrating their mastery of this high-speed track.

Michael Schumacher, a legend in the world of Formula One, holds the record for the most victories at the Monza Grand Prix. His tally of five wins (in 1996, 1998, 2000, 2003, and 2006) places him at the top, a record he shares with Lewis Hamilton, another icon of the sport.

Italian Grand Prix – Winners

2022Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing
2021Daniel RicciardoMcLaren Mercedes
2020Pierre GaslyAlphaTauri Honda
2019Charles LeclercFerrari
2018Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2016Nico RosbergMercedes
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2013Sebastian VettelRed Bull Renault
2012Lewis HamiltonMcLaren Mercedes
2011Sebastian VettelRed Bull Renault
2010Fernando AlonsoFerrari
2009Rubens BarrichelloBrawn Mercedes
2008Sebastian VettelToro Rosso Ferrari
2007Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Mercedes
2006Michael SchumacherFerrari
2005Juan Pablo MontoyaMcLaren Mercedes
2004Rubens BarrichelloFerrari
2003Michael SchumacherFerrari
2002Rubens BarrichelloFerrari
2001Juan Pablo MontoyaWilliams BMW
2000Michael SchumacherFerrari
1999Heinz-Harald FrentzenJordan Mugen
1998Michael SchumacherFerrari
1997David CoulthardMcLaren Mercedes
1996Michael SchumacherFerrari
1995Johnny HerbertBenetton Renault
1994Damon HillWilliams Renault
1993Damon HillWilliams Renault
1992Ayrton SennaMcLaren Honda
1991Nigel MansellWilliams Renault
1990Ayrton SennaMcLaren Honda
1989Alain ProstMcLaren Honda
1988Gerhard BergerFerrari
1987Nelson PiquetWilliams Honda
1986Nelson PiquetWilliams Honda
1985Alain ProstMcLaren Porsche
1984Niki LaudaMcLaren Porsche
1983Nelson PiquetBrabham BMW
1982René ArnouxRenault Renault
1981Alain ProstRenault Renault
1979Jody ScheckterFerrari
1978Niki LaudaBrabham Alfa Romeo
1977Mario AndrettiLotus Ford
1976Ronnie PetersonMarch Ford
1975Clay RegazzoniFerrari
1974Ronnie PetersonLotus Ford
1973Ronnie PetersonLotus Ford
1972Emerson FittipaldiLotus Ford
1971Peter GethinB.R.M. B.R.M.
1970Clay RegazzoniFerrari
1969Jackie StewartMatra Ford
1968Denis HulmeMcLaren Ford
1967John SurteesHonda Honda
1966Ludovico ScarfiottiFerrari
1965Jackie StewartB.R.M. B.R.M.
1964John SurteesFerrari
1963Jim ClarkLotus Climax
1962Graham HillB.R.M. B.R.M.
1961Phil HillFerrari
1960Phil HillFerrari
1959Stirling MossCooper Climax
1958Tony BrooksVanwall Vanwall
1957Stirling MossVanwall Vanwall
1956Stirling MossMaserati Maserati
1955Juan Manuel FangioMercedes Mercedes
1954Juan Manuel FangioMercedes Mercedes
1953Juan Manuel FangioMaserati Maserati
1952Alberto AscariFerrari Ferrari
1951Alberto AscariFerrari Ferrari
1950Giuseppe FarinaAlfa Romeo Alfa Romeo

Accessing Formula 1 Races Without Extra Cost

Is it really feasible to watch all Formula 1 races, including the iconic Italian Grand Prix at Monza, without spending extra on TV subscriptions? The answer is yes, and our guide offers a comprehensive solution. By following the methods outlined in our article, viewers can enjoy not only the adrenaline-pumping action at Monza but all other F1 races as well, completely free of charge. This approach, which I have personally been utilizing for years, has proven to be a cost-effective way to keep up with the thrilling world of Formula 1 racing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *