F1 British Grand Prix at Silverstone

In the thrilling world of Formula 1, the British Grand Prix is slated to be held at its birthplace – the Silverstone Circuit – from July 7 to 9 this year. This race follows closely on the heels of the Austrian Grand Prix at Spielberg, which takes place a week earlier. Post-Silverstone, the action moves to the Hungaroring in Budapest.

Silverstone: A Circuit Steeped in History

The Silverstone Grand Prix stands as one of the most iconic and storied events in motorsport history. Tracing its origins back to the nascent days of Formula One, the first British Grand Prix was hosted in 1950 at this very circuit, then a repurposed military airfield, and marked the inception of the Formula One World Championship.

Over the years, the Silverstone circuit has evolved from its original, lengthier airstrip format to a more compact, safer, and exhilarating 5.891 km track. This transformation has made Silverstone a benchmark for modern racing circuits.

Silverstone Today: The Pinnacle of the F1 Season

Now, the Silverstone Circuit is renowned as a highlight of the Formula 1 calendar. The current configuration offers a 52-lap race, totaling 306.3 kilometers, where high-tech cars zoom past an audience of up to 135,000 spectators. Max Verstappen holds the record for the fastest lap in this circuit with a time of 1:27.097 in his Red Bull racer.

The Legacy of Silverstone’s Grand Prix

The Silverstone Grand Prix has consistently delivered riveting races and dramatic moments for decades. Racing legends like Jim Clark,

Jackie Stewart, Nigel Mansell, and Lewis Hamilton have etched their names in its history with multiple victories, reinforcing the British legacy in racing.

In 2010, the circuit underwent significant renovations to adapt to the advanced needs of modern Formula One racing. This upgrade included redesigning the pit areas, the starting and finishing straights, and various corners.

The Grand Prix at Silverstone has maintained its essential place in the Formula One roster for over seventy years. In 2020, its 70th anniversary was celebrated with a special race, aptly named the “70th Anniversary Grand Prix,” to compensate for the numerous cancellations caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. Interestingly, Silverstone, alongside Monza, has the distinction of being one of the only two F1 circuits to have consistently hosted races since 1950.

Champions of the Silverstone Grand Prix

The history of the British Grand Prix at Silverstone is marked by an illustrious list of winners from various teams, showcasing the competitive spirit and evolution of the sport over the years.

2023Max VerstappenRed Bull
2022Carlos Sainz jr.Ferrari
2021Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2020Max VerstappenRed Bull
2020Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2019Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2018Sebastian VettelFerrari
2017Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2016Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2015Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2014Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2013Nico RosbergMercedes
2012Mark WebberRed Bull Renault
2011Fernando AlonsoFerrari
2010Mark WebberRed Bull Renault
2009Sebastian VettelRed Bull Renault
2008Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2007Kimi RäikkönenFerrari
2006Fernando AlonsoRenault
2005Juan Pablo MontoyaMcLaren Mercedes
2004Michael SchumacherFerrari
2003Rubens BarrichelloFerrari
2002Michael SchumacherFerrari
2001Mika HäkkinenMcLaren Mercedes
2000David CoulthardMcLaren Mercedes
1999David CoulthardMcLaren Mercedes
1998Michael SchumacherFerrari
1997Jacques VilleneuveWilliams Renault
1996Jacques VilleneuveWilliams Renault
1995Johnny HerbertBenetton Renault
1994Damon HillWilliams Renault
1993Alain ProstWilliams Renault
1992Nigel MansellWilliams Renault
1991Nigel MansellWilliams Renault
1990Alain ProstFerrari
1989Alain ProstMcLaren Honda
1988Ayrton SennaMcLaren Honda
1987Nigel MansellWilliams Honda
1985Alain ProstMcLaren Porsche
1983Alain ProstRenault
1981John WatsonMcLaren Ford
1979Clay RegazzoniWilliams Ford
1977James HuntMcLaren Ford
1975Emerson FittipaldiMcLaren Ford
1973Peter RevsonMcLaren Ford
1971Jackie StewartTyrrell Ford
1969Jackie StewartMatra Ford
1967Jim ClarkLotus Climax
1965Jim ClarkLotus Climax
1963Jim ClarkLotus Climax
1960Jack BrabhamCooper Climax
1958Peter CollinsFerrari
1956Juan Manuel FangioFerrari
1954José Froilán GonzálezFerrari
1953Alberto AscariFerrari
1952Alberto AscariFerrari
1951José Froilán GonzálezFerrari
1950Giuseppe FarinaAlfa Romeo

Accessing Formula 1 Excitement Live and Free

For fans wanting to experience the entire Formula 1 season, there are options to watch every race live for free using VPN services. This method, which I have personally used for several years, ensures you don’t miss a single moment of racing action due to transmission issues, all while saving money.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *